The “Strong Scholars” Program for Initial Licensure Teacher Candidates

Starting in 1928, the Hattie M. Strong Foundation (HMSF) has run what we believe to be one of the earliest and most successful student loan programs in the country. We have supported “young people of promise” in their pursuit of higher education across all fields of study in all regions of the country. Our loans always charged zero interest and offered flexible repayment schedules tied to the economic realities of a student’s career choice.

In 2009, the HMSF Board of Directors decided to confront a different kind of economic reality; the astonishingly high levels of debt that today’s college graduates must incur to complete their studies. Rather than make available yet another layer of debt, we decided to stop lending money and to simply give it away.

In alignment with our traditional focus on education, we have replaced our student loan program with a scholarship program aimed at college students enrolled in teacher-training programs. Specifically, the HMSF hopes to reduce financial pressure during the student-teaching semester, when a student’s ability to offset expenses with outside employment is curtailed by the rigor of full-time work in the classroom.

Program Operation, Application, and Selection Process

Funds for the $5,000 scholarships are distributed via partnership with twenty-four institutions, all located near Washington, D.C., that have demonstrated leadership in preparing outstanding classroom teachers. Application requirement and student selection will be determined by each institution’s scholarship committee in line with the following criteria in descending order of importance:

  • Undergraduate students who have exhibited outstanding success and enthusiasm in field experience prior to the final year of the program or graduate students whose life experiences prior to enrollment reveal the same traits
  • Students with demonstrated financial need
  • Students who have achieved a minimum 3.0 GPA in the two semesters prior to their final year


For students interested in learning more about applying for a Hattie M. Strong Foundation Strong Scholars Scholarship, please contact the following institutions:

The Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.

Jo Anna Norris, Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations
Office of University Advancement
620 Michigan Avenue
107 Aquinas Hall
Washington, DC 20064
(202) 319-6913
[email protected]

Gallaudet University, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Christi Batamula, Interim Chair
Gallaudet University
Fowler Hall, Office 302C
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 651-5137
[email protected]

George Mason University, Fairfax, Virginia

Dr. Roberto Pamas
Director of Teacher Track
College of Education & Human Development
George Mason University – #1301 Thompson Hall
4400 University Drive, MS MS2
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 993-2033
[email protected]

James Madison University, Harrisonburg, Virginia

Dr. Amy D. Thelk
Assisant Dean for Accreditation, Assessment & Accountability
JMU College of Education – MSC 6911
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
(540) 568-3171
[email protected]

Longwood University, Farmville, Virginia

Dr. Mary Tackett
Co-Chair, Teacher Preparation Scholarship Committee
College of Education & Human Service
Longwood University
201 High Street, Hull 215
Farmville, VA 23909
(434) 395-2516
[email protected]

Norfolk State University, Norfolk, Virginia

Dr. Denelle Wallace, Associate Dean
Norfolk State University School of Education
700 Park Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23504
(757) 823-8590
[email protected]

Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia

Ms. Valerie Taylor
Associate Director of the Office of Clinical Experiences
Old Dominion University
1107D Education Building
Norfolk, VA 23529
(757) 683-6448
[email protected]

Radford University, Radford, Virginia

Dr. Tamara Wallace, Dean
College of Education & Human Development
PO Box 6960
Radford, VA 24142
(540) 831-6311
[email protected]

Shenandoah University, Winchester, Virginia

Dr. Mary E. Bowser, Director of Professional Licensure
School of Education and Human Development
Shenandoah University
20 South Cameron Street, Bowman 111, Henkel 204
Winchester, VA 22601
(540) 535-3575
[email protected]

University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Dr. Peter S. Kelly, Dean
College of Education
1301 College Avenue
Trinket Hall, Room 223
Fredericksburg, VA 22401
(540) 654-1334
[email protected]

Bowie State University, Bowie, Maryland

Dr. Yvonne Crawford
Assistant Professor of Teaching, Learning & Professional Development
Bowie State University
14000 Jericho Park Road
Bowie, MD 20715
(301) 860-3141
[email protected]

Frostburg State University, Frostburg, Maryland

Dr. Seniz Celimli-Aksoy
Educational Professions Department
Frostburg State University – Frampton Hall 207-4
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, Maryland 21532
(301) 687-4366
[email protected]

Notre Dame of Maryland University, Baltimore, Maryland

Dr. Kathryn Doherty, Dean
Notre Dame of Maryland University
College of Education – Gibbons Hall
4701 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21210
(410) 532-5497
[email protected]

Salisbury University, Salisbury, Maryland

Sara Elburn
Professional Development Schools Coordinator
1101 Camden Avenue
Salisbury, MD 21801
(410) 677-5042
[email protected]

Towson University, Towson, Maryland

Dr. Heather Haverback, Assistant Professor
Dept. of Secondary & Middle Education
College of Education
Towson University
Hawkins Hall, Room 413M
8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252
(410) 704-2796
[email protected]

University of Maryland Baltimore County, Baltimore, Maryland

Bruce Lyons
Associate Director of Foundation Relations
Office of Institutional Advancement
University of Maryland Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle, Admin 704
Baltimore, Maryland 21250
(410) 455-6289
[email protected]

East Carolina University, Greenville, North Carolina

Melonie T. Bryan
Director of University Scholarships
East Carolina University
G131 Old Cafeteria Complex
MailStop 184
Greenville, NC 27858
(252) 328-5816
[email protected]

Elon University, Elon, North Carolina

R. Brian Baker
Associate Vice President
University Advancement
Elon University
2615 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244
(877) 784-3566
[email protected]

Fayetteville State University, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Dr. Marion Gillis-Olion, Dean
School of Education
Fayetteville State University
1200 Murchison Road / Newbold Station
Fayetteville, NC 28301-4298
(910) 672-1265
[email protected]

North Carolina Agricultural & Technology State University, Greensboro, North Carolina

Dr. Paula G. Price, Dean
College of Education
North Carolina A & T
Greensboro, NC 27411
(336) 285-4367
[email protected]

Salem Academy and College, Salem, North Carolina

Dr. Nicki Young, Director of Educator Preparation
Salem Academy and College
601 South Church Street
Main Hall, First Floor
Winston-Salem, NC 27101
(336) 721-2774
[email protected]

University of North Carolina – Pembroke, Pembroke, North Carolina

Dr. Loury Floyd, Dean
School of Education Office, #109
1 University Drive, PO Box 1510
Pembroke, NC 23872
(910) 521-6539
[email protected]

University of North Carolina – Wilmington, Wilmington, North Carolina

Dr. Angela Housand
Assistant Dean of Academic & Student Affairs
Watson College of Education, Room 373
Wilmington, NC 28403
(910) 962-2649
[email protected]

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, North Carolina

Dr. Kim Winter, Dean
College of Education & Allied Professions
204 Killian
Cullowhee, NC 28723
(828) 227-7311
[email protected]